歷史

兩個堅持原則的人:John Stuart 先生與 William Sharp 牧師

The Glenrothes Distillery 的歷史始於兩位傑出男士的故事。James Stuart 首先想要在 Rothes 鎮打造一座新的釀酒廠,而牧師 William Sharp 則籌募了拯救釀酒廠免於變成廢墟所需的資金,並幫助使 James Stuart 的夢想成真。

威士忌釀製大師:James Stuart 先生

出生於 Rothes 鎮的 James Stuart,對威士忌充滿熱情。他發現蒸餾提供一個光明的未來,並決定在他的家鄉 Rothes 打造一座新的釀酒廠,這個釀酒廠能夠釀製出比同業更輕淡、更有果感的醇酒。

James Stuart 了解威士忌。他也知道要釀製最純正的單一麥芽威士忌,木材和時間的成分必不可少。因此,在他的釀酒廠,他會確保蒸餾過程,不會急於增加產量。相反,它會持續一段時間,而不只是片刻,以釀製出富含果味以營造更輕淡,更如奶油般的威士忌。他還堅定地確信,他莊園裡的每一桶酒都經過當地桶匠的精心採購與照料,他們會帶來他們對木材魅力的永恆知識。在 The Glenrothes,一切沒有捷徑。

他開始與當地商人 Robert Dick 和 William Grant 合作,在 Rothes Burn 旁邊的一家老磨坊裡打造它。但是在 1878 年的夏天,一場金融危機襲擊了蘇格蘭,使他們無法再為釀酒廠的建設籌措資金。James 退出了,讓 Robert 和 William 陷入了困境,不知道下一步該如何走。

牧師:William Sharp 牧師

附近村莊 Archiestown 的聯合長老會教堂的牧師 William Sharp,因其佈道警告其教區居民免受邪惡的誘惑而聞名。然而,儘管 William Sharp 以其作為煽動者的名聲而聞名,但他是一個堅持原則的人,他對上帝的奉獻只有他對社區的承諾能媲美。在 Speyside,威士忌是該社區的支柱。

他知道 Rothes 鎮需要第二家釀酒廠來為那些依賴威士忌謀生的銅匠、桶匠和倉庫工人提供穩定的就業機會。

William Sharp 並非有錢人,但他是一個有說服力的人。很快地,透過呼籲社區當地領導人,他設法籌集了 600 英鎊。便有足夠的資金來完成新的 The Glenrothes Distillery 的工作。

全新釀酒廠:Rothes 的驕傲

新釀酒廠的工作於 1878 年夏天開始,從建造蒸餾室開始,該蒸餾室位於氣勢宏偉的的寶塔屋頂下。隨後是一個大型倉庫和糖化發酵室。並且,在 1879 年 12 月 28 日,第一道純淨的醇酒從 The Glenrothes 釀酒廠流出。

建造了一條水車用水流,以轉移一些支流流水來轉動水輪,為釀酒廠提供所需的所有動力。鐵路運輸帶來了大麥,並帶走了裝填滿滿的酒桶。最重要的是,上游的泉水所提供的軟水確保了冰涼、清澈的水源供應充足。為了向 Rothes 人民獻上敬意,穿越莊園的人行道仍然開放,讓當地人民可以自由地漫遊 The Glenrothes Distillery。

作為一個釀製威士忌的人,James Stuart 確信他應該使用傳統的蒸餾方法以及最新進展的生產技術。他的信念建立在四個基本原則的基礎上:可以獲得附近的水源,以確保他新釀醇酒的卓越與純度;比平時更緩慢的蒸餾,以釀製他心目中芳醇的單一麥芽威士忌;最好的雪利酒調味酒桶,以提供更多種類的韻味和威士忌,並總是以自然色澤裝瓶。

The History

Two men of principle: Mr John Stuart and Rev. William Sharp

The history of The Glenrothes Distillery begins with the stories of two exceptional men. James Stuart, who first had the vision to build a new distillery in the town of Rothes, and the Reverend William Sharp, who raised the funds needed to save the distillery from ruin and helped to turn James Stuart’s dream into a reality.

The Whisky Maker: Mr James Stuart

James Stuart, born and bred in the town of Rothes, had a passion for whisky. He could see distilling offered a bright future and decided to build a new distillery in his hometown of Rothes that would be capable of making a lighter and fruitier spirit than its counterparts.

James Stuart knew whisky. He also knew that to make the finest single malts, the ingredients of wood and time would be essential. So at his distillery he would ensure that the distillation process wouldn’t be hurried to increase production. Instead it would last as long as necessary, not a moment less, to make a spirit that would contain the fruitiness capable of creating a lighter and creamier whisky. He also had the firm conviction that every cask at his estate would be carefully sourced and tended by local coopers, who would bring with them their timeless knowledge of the magic of wood. At The Glenrothes there would be no shortcuts.

He began building it in partnership with local businessmen Robert Dick and William Grant in an old mill next to the Rothes Burn. But in the summer of 1878 a financial crisis hit the country and they could no longer finance the build of the distillery. James stepped aside and left Robert and William with a dilemma over what to do next.

The Priest: The Reverend William Sharp

The Reverend William Sharp, a priest of the United Presbyterian Church in the nearby village of Archiestown, was known for his sermons warning his parishioners against the evils of temptation. Yet despite his reputation as a firebrand, William Sharp was a man of principle, whose devotion to God was rivaled only by his commitment to his community. In Speyside, it was whisky that was the backbone of that community.

He knew that the town of Rothes needed a second distillery to provide stable employment for the coppersmiths, coopers and warehouse workers that relied on whisky for their livelihoods.

William Sharp was not a rich man, but he was a persuasive one. Soon, by appealing to the better nature of the local leaders of the community, he had managed to raise £600. Sufficient funds to complete work on the new The Glenrothes Distillery.

The New Distillery: Pride of Rothes

Work began on the new distillery in the Summer of 1878 beginning with the construction of the stillhouse, which stood out under an imposing pagoda roof. A large warehouse and mashing room followed. And, on 28th December 1879, the first pure spirit flowed from The Glenrothes distillery.

A lade – or mill stream – was constructed to divert some of the burn to turn a water wheel that provided the distillery with all the power it needed. A railway siding brought in the barley and took away the filled casks. And most importantly of all, the soft water provided by the springs upstream ensured there was a plentiful supply of cold, crystal-clear water. As a tribute to the people of Rothes, the footpath that crossed the estate remained open, giving the local people the freedom to roam through The Glenrothes Distillery.

As a man of whisky, James Stuart was convinced that he should use traditional distillation methods alongside the latest advances in production technology. His conviction was built on four founding principles: having access to a nearby source of water to ensure the excellence and purity of his new make spirit, a slower than usual distillation to make the mellower single malt he was aiming for, the best sherry seasoned casks to provide a wider range of flavours and a whisky always bottled at natural colour.